How to set SMART goals for PR pros

goal-1955252_1920
As I’m in the process of writing my professional goals for the next year at work, it’s now a good time to focus on some best practices for goal-setting. Rather than just shooting blindly for the stars, I’m going to set SMART goals that will allow me to prove I’ve delivered against them at annual review time.

What are SMART goals? Each goal includes the following “SMART” elements, resulting in goals that can be tracked, evaluated and benchmarked.

Specific – Call out the who, what, when, where and why. What exactly do I need, or want, to do?

Measurable – Numbers are everything! Without metrics, I won’t be able to know if I’ve achieved a goal, or how far I need to go to get there.

Attainable – The end result needs to be attainable based on my skill set and experience level.

Realistic – Goals can be hugely motivating, so I’ve got to be honest with myself about what I can achieve. I’ll need to consider my workload and available time to set goals that are actually do-able in the next year.

Time-bound – Calling out the milestones between now and next year will enable me to make sure I’m in good shape in achieving my goals once my annual review comes along.

I’ll share learnings through the goal-setting process as my SMART goals crystallize.

In the meantime, do you have any other tips for goal-setting?

Photo credit: Pixabay.com.

 

One thought on “How to set SMART goals for PR pros

Leave a Reply

